Homesteady: Harvesting quiet nights

Image

“You do not have to be good.
You do not have to walk on your knees
For a hundred miles through the desert, repenting.
You only have to let the soft animal of your body
love what it loves.
Tell me about your despair, yours, and I will tell you mine.
Meanwhile the world goes on.
Meanwhile the sun and the clear pebbles of the rain
are moving across the landscapes,
over the prairies and the deep trees,
the mountains and the rivers.
Meanwhile the wild geese, high in the clean blue air,
are heading home again.
Whoever you are, no matter how lonely,
the world offers itself to your imagination,
calls to you like the wild geese, harsh and exciting –
over and over announcing your place
in the family of things.” Mary Oliver

-The photo above is taken at Mirror Lake, Oregon of my friend Emily-

Image

Here I am. Standing in the camper in the early days. As you can see I put up a few shelves for clothes and for some dishes and decorations. The humble bed rests underneath a window with a similar one on the opposite side. Since this photo was taken you will see more wall decorations; I am always changing and improving something. A big change I made was renting a nail gun and installing thin wood panels to the ceiling.

Image

Image

This gave the camper a much more light, fresh feeling. I was apprehensive at first, but I am happy with the effects.

Photo on 1-3-14 at 8.28 PM #2

 

At the opposite end of the camper I built a counter top, where my computer lives and I can do art or work. Underneath the right side I took a simple bookshelf I had, cut down the legs and now use it as a shelf for my camping stove storage, iron skillets, and pots.

IMG_3012

 

Eventually I may get a different hot plate, but the camping stove I already had works fine for the moment. The curtain behind the stove I made from Pendleton wool purchased at the Pendleton Outlet. The scrap pieces of cherry colored wood for the counter creates a great natural workplace and is a great warm contrast against the light ceiling.

Having the counter with the computer also creates a great place for watching movies from the bed, which can function much like a sofa.

IMG_2365

 

This was my first official breakfast in the camper. And this was my work space for making & wrapping holiday Christmas presents.

IMG_2873

 

Pretty much an plant looks great on it as well.

IMG_2894

 

With the ceiling panels in place, I was able to place more trim in the upper corners. However, I ran into some problems with the accuracy of measurements. The panels I used didn’t flush against certain parts of the ceiling as I hoped they would. I will post later about how I fix that. My next goal is to fasten down and install more shelves to make better use of the space. I may take some thick wire to create an open holding for items of the shelf, or just have bins to store belongings if and when I ever move the camper.

IMG_2816

 

For a time I moved my electric piano into the camper. It was great being able to play music in the space. However, the shelves underneath the piano collapsed during a move and it felt a bit cluttered with how I had things situated. If I didn’t have another studio space to play music I would’ve kept it, it was great for the time. I am now in the process of putting up more shelving for books etc. instead.

Leave a Reply

